28. dubna 2021 v 22:00 |
Administrační tagy: 

Elia Moretti: Once Enea stuck an apple seed to my ear

Elia Moretti: Once Enea stuck an apple seed to my ear
28. dubna 2021 v 22:00 |
Administrační tagy: 

Elia Moretti: Once Enea stuck an apple seed to my ear

The motivation behind this composition is coming from a reflection about listening. So my first question was not “what to play?” but “How sound appeal to senses?”, a question which I wish to articulate, tell, develop without explaining.

How to achieve a composition/device that should help us ‘listen to ourselves listening’?Radio, the medium of listening, might represent actively the act of listening and contain the listening in several modalities. Radio is able to create intimacy without proximity, it shares particularity. Where a simultaneity of personalities are coexisting, each experience requires negotiation: listening becomes agency.

What secret is at stake when you truly listen the sonorous over the semantic?
Non-semantic expressions is the access from where we can know in new ways. 
My motivation in exploring the act of listening lies in the activation of that sensitivity, to enable one to attend to the world in a new way, with an interest in the world as it presents itself for us in experience. What was needed, therefore, were strategies of composing and telling able to activate the audience and to evoke a critical distance toward what is heard.

I'd like to leave the listeners to find their own music from the sounds we are proposing here. This would be the biggest achievement of this composition, a music that should help us listen to ourselves listening. I wish to involve the listener in their reality, rather than offering an interpretation of it. Who listen lies in a position of ambiguity between the sound and the sensory self, participating as well to the creation of the aesthetic moment.

Elia Moretti (Prague, 2021)



Voice: Lore Lixenberg
Violin and Voice: Tomaš Vtípil
Clarinet: Renata Raková
Trombone: Václav Kalivoda
Tuba and Percussion: Pierre Louis Barge
Percussion: Jakub Švejnar, Václav Šafka, Elia Moretti
Dramaturg: Tereza Havelková
Libretto: Elia Moretti, Lore Lixenberg, Tereza Havelková; with a quotation from the book “Listening” by Jean Luc Nancy.

Realization: Ladislav Železný and Elia Moretti
Production: Český Rozhlas, R{A}DIO{CUSTICA}, in coproduction: ORF, Zeit-Ton.

Thanks: Ingrid Zotova-Mikshina and Roman Zotov-Mikshin for their dances.